A History of Hospitality
The Hartness House Inn was built by James and Lena Hartness in 1904. During their time in the home, they hosted many influential guests (including Charles Lindbergh!). After their passing, the property was purchased by three local machine tool companies and
they continued to host their guests at the home.
In 1954, the first addition and Victorian Ballroom were added to the home to house more guests and create the Hartness House Inn. In 1968, the Governor's Room was built, adding a restaurant to the property. The final addition was added to the Inn in 1971, which included 24 guest rooms, and was put on the National Register of Historic Places.
Hartness House celebrated its Centennial Anniversary in 2004!
In 2015 the Inn was purchased by passionate owners who were ready to invest in needed renovations and updates. Work began on the building infrastructure and rooms in the wings. Next, the Governors Room underwent a total renovation, creating The Tavern, a
farm-to-table experience for guests and the local community.
Over the past year the Hartness House has seen return guests and many new faces.
We are honored to continue tradition and be a part of a history of hospitality.